Scarred

Sarah Edmondson, Kristine Gasbarre


The shocking and subversive memoir of a
12-year-NXIVM-member-turned-whistleblower, and her inspiring true story
of abuse, escape, and redemption.

“Master, would you brand me? It would be an honor.”

Scarred
follows actress Sarah Edmondson’s account of her recruitment into the
NXIVM cult founded by Keith Raniere and the 12 years she spent within
the organization, during which she enrolled over 2,000 members.
This book also chronicles her breaking point and her harrowing fight to get out, help others, and heal.


Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in
the CBS series Salvation and more than 12 films for the Hallmark
Channel and Lifetime.
• Complete with personal photographs, this
tell-all follows Sarah from the moment she takes her first NXIVM
seminar, to the invitation she accepts from her best friend, Lauren
Salzman, into DOS—a “secret sisterhood” within the cult—to her journey
toward becoming a key witness in the federal case against its founders.

Readers will learn how cults like NXIVM get started, why people get
involved (and stay), and the importance of whistleblowers who bring
light to illegal and unethical practices.

Scarred
isn’t just about NXIVM. It is also a story about abuses of power, the
role female friendships play in cults, and how sometimes the search to
be “better” can override everything else.
In the constant search for self-improvement, how much do you trust the message and messenger?

• A thrilling read for fans of true crime and cults, as well as listeners of podcasts like My Favorite Murder and Up and Vanished
• Evokes questions about friendship, ethics, good and evil, making it a perfect selection for book clubs.
• Great for fans of Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini, Escape by Carolyn Jessop, Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill, and Bad Blood by John Carreyrou

Creator Bio

Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS series Salvation and more than twelve films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is also a well-established voice-over artist for popular series such as Transformers: Cybertron and My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. She is featured in the CBC podcast Uncover: Escaping NXIVM and The Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM.

Kristine Gasbarre is the author of the memoir How to Love an American Man, as well as the co-writer of the #1 New York Times bestselling Etched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra. Her work has been featured in such media outlets as People, Glamour, and the Oprah Winfrey Network.

Price £12.99
Format Paperback / softback
Publication Date 17 September 2019
Pages 248
Height 210mm
Width 140mm
Illustrations 8 page photo insert
Rights Europe, Africa
ISBN-13 9781797202396